Conversion of 1 byte into some common data-storage units

Following list shows the values of data units in 1 bytes:

S.No.1 BytesData units
1.1 Byte equals to8 bits (b)
2.1 Byte equals to2 nibbles (nibble)
3.1 Byte equals to1 bytes (B)
4.1 Byte equals to125 Kilobits (Kbit)
5.1 Byte equals to0.0078125 kibibits (kibit)
6.1 Byte equals to8e-6 megabits (Mbit)
7.1 Byte equals to7.6294e-6 mebibits (Mibit)
8.1 Byte equals to8e-9 gigabits (Gbit)
9.1 Byte equals to7.4506e-9 Gibibits (Gibit)
10.1 Byte equals to8e-12 Terabits (Tbit)
11.1 Byte equals to7.276e-12 Tebibits (Tibit)
12.1 Byte equals to8e-15 Petabits (Pbit)
13.1 Byte equals to7.1054e-15 Pebibits (Pibit)
14.1 Byte equals to0.001 Kilobytes (Kb)
15.1 Byte equals to0.000976563 kibibytes
16.1 Byte equals to1e-6 Megabytes (Mb)
17.1 Byte equals to9.5367e-7 Mebibytes
18.1 Byte equals to1e-9 Gigabytes (Gb)
19.1 Byte equals to9.3132e-10 Gibibytes
20.1 Byte equals to1e-12 Terabytes (Tb)
21.1 Byte equals to9.0949e-13 Tebibytes
22.1 Byte equals to1e-15 Petabytes (Pb)
23.1 Byte equals to8.8818e-16 Pebibytes

Other data units to byte conversion

Following list shows the values of bytes in other data units:

S.No.Other UnitsValues in bytes
1.1 Bit (b) equals to0.125 Bytes
2.1 Kilobit (kbit) equals to125 Bytes
3.1 Kibibit equals to128 Bytes
4.1 Megabit (Mbit) equals to125000 Bytes
5.1 Mebibit equals to131072 Bytes
6.1 Gigabit (Gbit) equals to1.25e + 8 Bytes
7.1 Gibibit is equals to1.342e+8 Bytes
8.1 Terabit (Tbit) equals to1.25e+11 Bytes
9.1 Tebibit equals to1.374e+11 Bytes
10.1 Petabit equals to1.25e+14 Bytes
11.1 Pebibit equals to1.407e+14 Bytes
12.1 exabit equals to1.25e+17 Bytes
13.1 Exbibit equals to144115188075855872 Bytes
14.1 Yobibits equals to1.511e+23 Bytes
15.1 Nibble equals to0.5 bytes
16.1 Byte equals to1 Bytes
17.1 Kilobyte (KB) equals to1000 Bytes
18.1 Kibibyte equals to1024 Bytes
19.1 Megabyte (MB) equals to1e+6 Bytes
20.1 Mebibytes equals to1.049e+6 Bytes
21.1 Gigabytes (GB) equals to1e+9 Bytes
22.1 Gibibytes equals to1.074e+9 Bytes
23.1 Terabytes (TB) equals to1e+12 Bytes
24.1 Tebibytes equals to1.1e+12 Bytes
25.1 Petabytes (PB) equals to1e+15 Bytes
26.1 Pebibytes equals to1.126e+15 Bytes
27.1 exabytes (EB) equals to1.0e+18 Bytes Bytes
28.1 Exbibytes equals to1152921504606846976 Bytes
29.1 Zettabytes equals to1.0e+21 Bytes
30.1 Yottabytes equals to 1.0e+24 Bytes
31.1 Yobibytes equals to1.2089258196146e+24 Bytes


A Byte is a unit of data measurement which mainly consists of eight bits. A byte is a series of binary digits, which contain ‘0’ or ‘1’. A byte is represented as upper-case ‘B’ whereas a bit is represented by small-case “b”. The symbol of bit and byte is specified in IEC80000-13 and IEEE 1541. It is a term which is introduced in the year 1956 by Werner Buchholz.

A byte is a basic unit of storage capacity in the computer systems. It is also used by computers to represent the characters such as numbers, letters or symbols. A single byte can be used for indicating the 28 or 256 different values. These values start from 00000000 Binary to 11111111 Binary.

A nibble is a data unit which comes before the Byte. And, kilobyte comes after it.

The byte is used for measuring the size of memory and the speed of data transfer. Following are the examples of bytes in memory size:

  • Kilobytes,
  • Megabytes,
  • Gigabytes,
  • Terabytes, etc.

And, following are the examples of the speed of data transfer:

  • Kilobytes per second,
  • megabytes per second, etc.

Some programming languages also use the byte as the data type. For example, C, C++, and Java use the bytes as the data type.