Conversion of 1 Gigabyte into some standard data-storage units

Following list shows the conversion of 1 gigabyte into other standard data storage units:

S.No.1 GigabytesCommon data storage units
1.1 GB equals to8000000000 bits (bit)
2.1 GB equals to8000000 kilobits (kbit)
3.1 GB equals to8000 megabits (Mbit)
4.1 GB equals to8 gigabits (Gbit)
5.1 GB equals to0.008 terabits (Tbit)
6.1 GB equals to1000000000 bytes (B)
7.1 GB equals to1000000 kilobytes (KB)
8.1 GB equals to1000 megabytes (MB)
9.1 GB equals to1 gigabytes (GB)
10.1 GB equals to0.001 terabytes (TB)

Other data units to gigabyte conversion

Following list shows the values of gigabytes in other data units:

S.No.Other UnitsValues in Gigabytes
1.1 Bit equals to1.25e-10 Gigabytes
2.1 Kilobit equals to1.25e-7 Gigabytes
3.1 Kibibit equals to1.28e-7 Gigabytes
4.1 Megabit equals to0.000125 Gigabytes
5.1 Mebibit equals to0.000131072 Gigabytes
6.1 Gigabit equals to0.125 Gigabytes
7.1 Gibibit equals to0.134218 Gigabytes
8.1 Terabit equals to125 Gigabytes
9.1 Tebibit equals to137.439 Gigabytes
10.1 Petabit equals to125000 Gigabytes
11.1 Pebibit equals to140737 Gigabytes
12.1 exabit equals to125000000 Gigabytes
13.1 Exbibit equals to144115188.07586 Gigabytes
14.1 Yobibits equals to1.511e+14 Gigabytes
15.1 Nibble equals to5.0e-10 Gigabytes
16.1 Byte equals to1.0e-9 Gigabytes
17.1 Kilobyte equals to1e-6 Gigabytes
18.1 Kibibyte equals to1.024e-6 Gigabytes
19.1 Megabyte equals to0.001 Gigabytes
20.1 Mebibytes equals to0.00104858 Gigabytes
21.1 Gigabytes equals to1 Gigabytes
22.1 Gibibytes equals to1.07374 Gigabytes
23.1 Terabytes equals to1000 Gigabytes
24.1 Tebibytes equals to1099.51 Gigabytes
25.1 Petabytes equals to1e+6 Gigabytes
26.1 Pebibytes equals to1.126e+6 Gigabytes
27.1 exabytes equals to1000000000 Gigabytes
28.1 Exbibytes equals to1152921504.6068 Gigabytes
29.1 Zettabytes equals to1000000000000 Gigabytes
30.1 Yottabytes equals to1.0e+15 Gigabytes
31.1 Yobibytes equals to1.2089258196146e+15 Gigabytes


Gb is a unit symbol for the Gigabyte. A gigabyte is made up of multiple-unit bytes, which stores the digital information and denotes the size of data. A byte is a size, which is made up of 8 bits. A bit is a single unit of data. It can be ‘0’ or ‘1’. And, the short form of Gigabyte is ‘Gbyte‘.

In the word gigabyte, Giga denotes the ninth power of 10, which means 109. In computer science and IT, the GB unit equals to 10243 or 230 bytes. 1 Gigabyte is equivalent to the following values:

  • 230 bytes,
  • 1,000,000,000 bytes (B),
  • 1,000 megabytes (MB).

A gigabyte is that unit, which is larger than a megabyte and smaller than the unit terabyte. This unit is used for measuring the storage capacity. A solid-state drive may hold the capacity of 256 GB, and the hard drive may store the capacity of 750 GB.

The Random-Access Memory (RAM) is also measured in Gigabytes like 1GB RAM, 2GB RAM, or 4GB RAM.