3. Basic Introduction


Anatomists (researchers of anatomy) often split the body up into ten basic systems to help describe what different parts of the body do.

  • Skeletal—The bones, cartilage, and joints.
  • Muscular—The muscles, which helps the body move and breathe.
  • Nervous—The brain, spinal cord, and cells called nerves that relay electrical impulses between the brain/spinal cord and the rest of the body.
  • Respiratory—The lungs, nose, trachea, and other cells and tubes related to breathing.
  • Cardiovascular—The heart, blood vessels, and blood, which provide oxygen and nutrients to the body and remove waste products.
  • Lymphatic—Tubes called lymph vessels and several organs and cell types that drain away fluids and protect the body.
  • Endocrine—Organs, such as the pancreas, liver, testes, and ovaries, and glands that produce/regulate hormones and other chemical signals.
  • Male and Female Reproductive Systems—Organs involved in reproduction, including the uterus, clitoris, and penis.
  • Urinary—The kidneys and bladder, which filter the blood, remove waste products, and produce and excrete urine.
  • Digestive—Organs, such as the mouth, stomach, intestines, and anus, which digest and absorb food and dispose of waste products.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *