2. Skeleton and muscular system


Twenty-six vertebrae form the vertebral column of the human body. They are named by region:

  • Cervical (neck) – 7 vertebrae
  • Thoracic (chest) – 12 vertebrae
  • Lumbar (lower back) – 5 vertebrae
  • Sacrum – 1 vertebra
  • Coccyx (tailbone) – 1 vertebra

With the exception of the singular sacrum and coccyx, each vertebra is named for the first letter of its region and its position along the superior-inferior axis. For example, the most superior thoracic vertebra is called T1 and the most inferior is called T12.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *